A sad morning

Things didn’t start in the best way this morning. I woke at about six-thirty to get up and go pee, and when I walked into the hallway where the dogs sleep at night, I got a horrible surprise. Our little Dachshund Pompey, who was only about two years old, was dead. I said ‘oh no’ and went and woke up my partner Brook, and told her the bad news. So she took care of the mess while I was inconsolable. Then we began the sad task of waking up the kids and telling them. It has been a rough morning for all of us. I took his body, in his little bed, covered by a blanket, and set it down towards the river to wait until later when I will bury him. There is a lot of heaviness in this house this morning.

Leave a Reply

