Alone Time

It is quiet in the house right now, only the mechanical whirring of both the computer and the refrigerator, plus the two dogs chewing their fur, looking for fleas. Brook has gone to town with Ju-Ju and Ryan for a doctor’s appointment, a little shopping, and then they will return home. So I am enjoying this rare time alone, writing, surfing the web, probably take a bath to ease my aching body too. I love my family so much, but it is nice to be alone, if only for a little while.

I believe I need alone time because even the day to day mundane activities of life really frazzle my nerves after a while and I just need some time to decompress. My life isn’t even that crazy, it’s just those daily things that most people don’t even think about that really wear on me after a time.

It’s interesting to me that this is this first relationship that I have been in where I really don’t need or even want to have a lot of alone time, just a little now and then. I take that as a good sign. Brook is an awesome partner, and she really doesn’t get on my nerves, so I feel very fortunate that I have found someone like that. I just hope she can say the same, which I doubt. Even if I am able to fool most people when it comes to having an autism spectrum disorder, Brook has to deal with the everyday realities of someone like me:Odd, Obsessive, rigid, hyper-analytical, hyper-sensitive to stimulation, tempermental, etc. In addition to having this serious pain disorder. So she is a queen among women, as far as I am concerned.

 

Leave a Reply

