Pain

Today has not been a good day. Don’t get me wrong, I do not exaggerate my pain, if anything, I try my best to understate the severity. Tonight I cannot bullshit or pull any punches. The pain was so bad it made me want to die. Literally. I love my life, and I very much want to remain here, but when my pain reaches certain levels of agony, in that moment, when it is peaking, I wish for death. It really is that bad, I promise.

For nearly the entire day, my right shoulder has been swollen and tender. One of the tendons connected to my scapula is really fibrous and stiff, not at all like a tendon should be. There is no massaging it out, either. I literally spent hour after hour while Brook worked on it for a long time too, and it hasn’t changed one iota. Then the pain came on in my chest – and let me get this out of the way right now – I am not having a heart attack. I used to think so, but it has been a really intense pain day and I have gotten these chest pains for as long as I have had this pain. Anyway, it began in my sternum, all the tendons there just flared up, a searing, burning pain, probably a 7 or 8 on the pain scale, it then worked down to my rib cage and to my back. The whole way it was pain between 8 – 10 on the severity scale. For probably two minutes it went on like this, horrid, terrible agony. I started crying. I hardly every cry because of my pain.

We videotaped the post-flare period and then when I started getting it again. I uploaded the footage of the minor flare up.

As I state in the video, I just recently got the ball rolling to start getting medical care from OHSU, the premiere medical staff in the state. It looks like I should be able to get the financial help I need so I can actually get things like MRIs and bloodwork and medications I cannot afford. I have an appointment to be seen in late April, but they promised to call if something opened up sooner. So things are hopeful, even while the pain is terrible.

One thought on “Pain

Leave a Reply

