Losing a friend

Our ‘old’ dog Zeus, who is maybe 9 years old, has stopped eating and is showing signs that death is fast approaching. He vomits up everything we give him, he is just a bag of bones now. It would seem that he wants to die at this point. A few days ago he was happy, going on walks, catching Frisbees, eating voraciously, being obnoxious towards every neighbor dog or squirrel. He is a Plot Hound which means that he has a loud, braying bark and rambunctious personality. When we moved out here to the river in August, he and I started swimming together for the first time (he is my Fiancee’s dog but he and I quickly established our own bond after a while) and I was really looking forward to doing that with him this summer. Doesn’t look too hopeful that I will get that chance.

It is so strange, since we moved here all of our dogs have had at least a brush with death. Caesar managed to survive blue-green algae poisoning our very first day on the river, then dear Pompey died a few months ago when he asphyxiated on garbage he had gotten into. Now Zeus seemingly has stomach cancer or something equally horrible. We haven’t been able to take him to the vet since we have no money and they won’t accept payments. However, Brook’s friend is one of the main vets there and has her own mobile veterinary clinic so we are hoping she will come out and see him tonight. Our guess is that he will need to be put down. I keep hoping (as we all do, I’m sure) that she will get him on some antibiotics and he will make a full recovery, but it just seems unlikely.

So we are all giving Zeus our attention in shifts, he has someone loving him at every moment now. He groans a lot. Poor soul. I just wish I could give him some peace. It will come soon, no doubt, but for now we are going to make him comfortable and give him our undivided attention.

Zeus enjoying some sunshine

7 thoughts on “Losing a friend

    • Thank you. I agree he is not that old, and hopefully it will be something meds can clear up. It just doesn’t look too good right now. I left out a lot of gory, unnecessary details.

  1. Don’t give up my friend. I have just taken my Australian Silkie Terrier to the vet after he became very lethargic and would not eat. They have detected a heart murmur and say that with the proper meds he has a few years left; he is 12 years old.
    I know the pain you are going through. My two dogs have become my defacto children and I spent last night in a very sad state until I found out there was hope. The vet told us the key to health is good food with no crap in it. Good luck. Chris.

    • Actually it looks like he will make it now. He is in the doggie hospital for a few nights. Salmon poisoning. We live right next to a major river. So we have things to learn about living here! Thanks for your support, it means a lot to all of us.

Leave a Reply

