A change of direction

Layered masculine mandala by Patricia Fatta

I am trying to take my writing more seriously, and I have been doing a lot of research, reading advice from other, much more successful bloggers and writers on how to generate more interest in my work, and the one bit of advice that keeps popping up is that for a blog to have more success it is necessary to work on it every day. I haven’t been doing that, I have pretty much been writing only when I have had some adventure to write about, which, given the weather and my (formerly) painful condition, was only occurring a few times each month. The fact is, I have a lot I would like to say about outdoor adventure, but especially when it comes to climbing. I am so passionate about it, I think about it constantly, I read my guidebooks until I have them memorized, and I even dream about climbing on a near-nightly basis. I have been thinking about what aspect of climbing I might be able to write about that would appeal to a broader audience and not just to fellow climbers, and what I have come up with is the spiritual and healing side of climbing and outdoor adventure. Since I have gone through some pretty terrible pain and have managed recently to make my life virtually pain-free, I realized that I really have a lot to offer to other people who are suffering, whether or not they are climbers or outdoor recreationalists. Climbing is my metaphor. It is the very real symbol of what a person can achieve, even if they have depression, fibromyalgia, or any other type of suffering. I have gone through a lot, I have had my share of heartache and struggle, and yet I have managed to keep my dreams alive, I have climbed so many mountains I would have once thought impossible, I have taken on whitewater, rock climbed and snow-shoe’d despite agonizing pain, a crippling lack of self-esteem and I have done it all on a shoestring budget.

From this point on, I expect to write something regarding this aspect of adventure on a daily basis, drawing inspiration from my favorite writers and spiritual leaders such as the Buddha, Thich Nhat Hanh, Sogyal Rinpoche, Jack Kornfield, Eckhart Tolle and Wayne Dyer in addition to many others. I will also cull information from my climbing guides, and write reviews of the many books and movies I either own or have seen. There is so much to write about when it comes to outdoor adventure, whether it is climbing, hiking, backpacking, kayaking, caving or even swimming. I hope you will join me in this new direction, and even more importantly, I hope to hear from each and every one of you who reads my blog. I really mean that. I am open to anything you have to say, even if it is criticism. Thank you for being a part of my journey, hopefully we will climb many mountains together, with words and pictures being the rope that binds us together. Namaste.

2 thoughts on “A change of direction

  1. Don, I’m new to your blog, but I love the direction you’re suggesting for it. You have much to share, and a wide range of people (not just those involved in these pursuits) can benefit from – and really enjoy – what you have to say. I look forward to checking back often.

    • Thank you so much Christine! I really appreciate such positive feedback! After going through so much pain for so many years I now really want to inspire and show people that it is possible to overcome adversity and disease and live a life that is vibrant, healthy and dynamic. Thanks again for commenting. I hope I can continue to bring interesting and (hopefully) well-written posts for a wide range of people.

Leave a Reply

